Home » Academics, Community

UVU Students Win First Place at National Home Builders Show

29 January 2010 No Comment

January 29, 2010
For Immediate Release

For more information: Jim McCulloch (801) 863-7004
University Marketing & Communications: Erin Spurgeon, (801) 863-6807
Written by: Jim McCulloch (801) 863-7004

A Utah Valley University team recently took top honors at the National Association of Home Builders’ annual Residential Construction Management Competition in Las Vegas. The winning team, comprised of five second-year UVU construction technology students, officially brought home the trophy last week.

Team members included Alex Evans, Amy Carter, Lisa Seacrest, Peter Geilman and Steven Cooper. The team was coached by UVU associate professor DeWayne Erdmann. Each of the five students spent about 100 hours on the project.

In September, as part of the competition, the team was sent floor plans of a custom designed home and had to prepare detailed plans for drawing, estimating and scheduling construction. The home was to be built in St. Louis, so the team researched area-specific rules and regulations. Then, with just 30 days notice, the team executed a comprehensive market analysis and redesign of the drawings to cost effectively meet the Silver-level Green Building Standard. After submitting their written project, the team orally presented their project to the judges in Las Vegas and then had to endure a torturous question and answer session.

“The judges just ripped into them,” Erdmann said. “But it is a real life experience. It’s a real house, built in a real place and, as builders, you have to answer for everything. Our team handled it with true professionalism. I could not be more proud of them.”

This is the first time UVU has taken home first place. Previously, UVU’s teams have finished in second place once and in third place four times.

“This award looks really, really good on a resume,” Erdmann said. “People that know the industry understand that these students really know their stuff.”

UVU’s four-year team also competed. The team included Lynae Malchus, Nathan Jackson, Kurt Antonino, Kevin Jensen, Danny Hall and Greg Tanner. The team was coached by associate professor Eric Linfield and competed nationally against 39 colleges and universities.

In addition to the first place win in the two-year program, UVU’s Nathan Jackson also won an Outstanding Student Award, just one of 29 students nationwide to be chosen.


Share and Enjoy:
  • blogmarks
  • Blogosphere
  • del.icio.us
  • Digg
  • Diigo
  • email
  • Facebook
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Google Buzz
  • LinkedIn
  • Mixx
  • PDF
  • Print
  • Propeller
  • RSS
  • Sphinn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • Yahoo! Buzz

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.